Beginner programmer struggles

Hello all!
I have been following some courses and am still enjoying them. I would really like to progress through the programmer courses to get myself a decent programming base.

But as a complete beginner programmer I am struggling a lot more then I was hoping I would with the most basic course.

I am following the basic Javascript course, but I am stuck at the looping part for a couple of days already. As soon as I let go of the course or tutorial literally nothing I try to achieve works.
Every day I put multiple hours in and still I am stuck on the complete basic, and I am running out of ideas how to get past it at this point.

I have been checking out many different sources online to see if a different perspective could work, but as soon as I get back to try and write something myself, it just fails.
Also the first practice exercises in the course were obviously no success and I couldn’t get even close to getting it those to work.
Am I the only one that’s struggling this much with just getting down the basics??

Is there maybe some easy practice projects I could try to work on to give me some goal to work towards?

Any tips are appreciated !

Thomas

1 Like

Hi Thomas,

You say that whatever you write “just fails”. What does that mean? You don’t know where to start? Or your code doesn’t execute? Or you get errors? Or your code runs, but doesn’t produce the results you were expecting?

These things can have different causes, we would need some concrete examples to help you out.

Code not executing could be a syntax error. Maybe a missing (closing) tag, or your parentheses/brackets don’t match? Or maybe your function is correct, but you forgot to call it?

Error messages could be syntax errors. Or maybe you’re using a variable that wasn’t declared yet?

Code that runs but doesn’t produce the desired result is often caused by faulty logic in the instructions.
Without specifics it’s a bit hard to help…