FAQ - KOVAN Testnet: A DeFi deep dive Part 1

Credits to the proper student to made this guide: @Y2z3H, thank you for this guide!

KOVAN Testnet: A DeFi deep dive
PART 1

I would never attempt to do any of this on mainnet because the fees would be abysmal…

DISCLAIMER

Treat this as a guide only! This guide is my own personal experience of using the Kovan testnet and it may serve as a calm starting point for anyone who is trying to get involved with DeFi through the testnet.

Anything you decide to do beyond this walkthrough is entirely your responsibility and any losses or glitches you come across is not my fault! I am not a professional nor am I a financial advisor! It’s important that you know the risks of crypto and do your own research before diving into DeFi

*It’s important to note that because I’m using a testnet, I won’t be able to generate an actual interest on my assets, but instead, I can test out different protocols and see what things would be like if I were to do the same things on the mainnet (You can make mistakes on the testnet without severe financial repercussions since the assets have no value).

*These are the steps I took which enabled me to do this assignment. Please treat this as a guide that you can use to boost your knowledge of the DeFi world using Kovan!

Without further ado, let’s gogogogogo!

Intro:

OH my days! This assignment has been quite challenging to do! Especially on the Kovan testnet! Nevertheless, I have been able to use the Kovan Testnet to save DAI on the Oasis save app. I have also been able to use the Oasis borrow app to use testnet ETH as collateral to get 100 more DAI, which was then used to deposit into the chai.money app and the Oasis save app.

I’ll go through my journey below and provide links to all the resources I used to help me do this!

1. Getting Testnet ETH