FAQ - KOVAN Testnet: A DeFi deep dive Part 2

Credits to the proper student to made this guide: @Y2z3H, thank you for this guide!

KOVAN Testnet: A DeFi deep dive
PART 2

Treat this as a guide only! This guide is my own personal experience of using the Kovan testnet and it may serve as a calm starting point for anyone who is trying to get involved with DeFi through the testnet.

Anything you decide to do beyond this walkthrough is entirely your responsibility and any losses or glitches you come across is not my fault! I am not a professional nor am I a financial advisor! It’s important that you know the risks of crypto and do your own research before diving into DeFi

In this guide, I will show the steps I took when using Kovan ETH to make a collateralised debt position (CDP) using the Oasis borrow app, and using the DAI generated to put into the chai.money savings app.

4). Oasis borrow app

1. I am first welcomed with this prompt to verify my account by signing a message:

Sign the message:

Accept the T&C’s:

Now you’re good to go!

1. Now it’s time to open a vault so that we can create a CDP to generate DAI!

After clicking on “open new vault” on the top of the screen, you’ll be taken to this page:

During my tests, I opted to open a vault with Ether because it’s the only asset I had:

1. Configuring the vault

This part was a bit tricky to get my head around because I had to deposit ETH and generate a minimum of 100 DAI (since that’s the required amount needed to open a vault). The catch was to deposit an acceptable amount of ETH, which enabled my collateralization ratio (CR) to be at a good level.

The CR on this amount is way too close to the minimum CR (150%). I am pretty sure that if I was to make this transaction on the mainnet, my position would be soon liquidated:

This CR on the deposit amount is ok, since it is green, however, on the next price update, if we were on mainnet, the updated CR would be close to 150%, which increases chances of liquidation: