Generative Art- Need your help please

Hi Guys,
I wanted to use programming to create art, and I stumbled upon generative art. I am still a newbie to programming, and would like to ask the community help on the code I am writing. Here is the code:

<html>
<canvas id="canvas" width="" height=""></canvas>
<body>
<script>
var canvas = document.querySelector('canvas');
var context = canvas.getContext('2d');

var size = 320;
var step = 20;
var dpr = window.devicePixelRatio;
canvas.width = size * dpr;
canvas.height = size * dpr;
context.scale(dpr, dpr);

function draw(x, y, width, height) {
  var leftToRight = Math.random() >= 0.5;

if(leftToRight) {
    context.moveTo(x, y);
    context.lineTo(x + width, y + height);    
  } else {
    context.moveTo(x + width, y);
    context.lineTo(x, y + height);

}
  context.strokeStyle= 'hsl(20, 100%, 50%)'
  context.stroke();
}

for(var x = 0; x < size; x += step) {
  for(var y = 0; y < size; y+= step) {
    draw(x, y, step, step);    
  }
}
</script>
</body>
</html>

Here is the output:

My question is how can I make some lines have different colors than the other, by using hsl and not gradient?

Thank you in advance!!!

1 Like

Hi @Katoch!

Looks like you’re having fun there! :slightly_smiling_face:

It’s great that you’re already experimenting with your new JavaScript skills to build actual projects. That’s definitely a great way to learn! :+1:
As the programming courses in this academy are for future blockchain developers, we can’t really support posts about projects specific to other industries such as the one you are working on here, and so I would encourage you to ask for help and support in forums such as https://stackoverflow.com/ or a forum aimed at developers in the field of art and graphic design.

Having said that, the last thing we want to do is discourage you from developing your JavaScript skills, as the basic functionality can be used in programs for any industry, including blockchain development.