How to take MASSIVE sats tax-free with CAPITAL GAINS EXEMPTION in Canada

Sorry for stealing Ivan’s eye-catching meme but hey…I am seeking the answer!

What exactly is the Capital Gains exemption in Canada and how can one utilize it to take MASSIVE sats tax-free OUTSIDE of your ‘registered’ TFSA?

Does it apply trading crypto?

Where on myCRA can you see what your Cap Gains exemption limit is? I’ve been using accountants for 20 years and let them do their stuff…I have no idea whether they have tapped into it or not.

I heard somewhere that capital gains are an operated on an ‘honor system’. The government ‘trusts’ that you will report your non-registered investment gains (profits).

It appears that Web3.0 or where we are headed is the tokenization of everything in the internet of ‘everything’ which is VALIDATING everything and trusting nobody which will make the nomenaclature ‘registered’ investment redundant (if I am using the correct word)…as tokenization IS registration…anyway I am still on BTC101, concerned about advancing further to soon as knowledge is good but at a measured pace…for me at least, generates far too many questions rather

Here is an article that can help answer your question: https://home.kpmg/ca/en/home/insights/2019/02/lifetime-capital-gains-exemption.html

The cap gains exemption is ~870k gross (x 50% = $435k actual taxable cap gain portion). But this doesn’t apply to capital gains from crypto. It applies to Privately held Canadian small businesses.

There are specific rules as to who/what would apply, but it is more for people who sell their business than it is for a crypto-trader.

right, I sold my business last year and accountant filed the return this year (fiscal year end Jan 1, 2020). I closed the PC this year and there have been no transactions. Can I just simply close my business account with CRA now?

That’s out of my wheelhouse, I’m not sure about the process to closing a business.

Good luck :slight_smile: