Miscellaneous JS Qs

I’m a newbie to JS, finished the course but want to gain a little more knowledge before moving onto C++ (actually I think I will skip and go to Solidity)…but before I feel confident enough, I’ve got to ‘get’ JS and I am just not there yet…things are starting to make sense, but really playing around is where I am going to learn.

1 Like

my first question playing around is with ATOM. I am assuming that when you write it with the proper syntax and indenting, it color coded correctly? I can’t find anything on this online and it bugs me that certain sections are greyed out even when it appears that the syntax is legit.

Yes, I WAS a perfectionist…hopefully this will not lure me back into that trap! lol

1 Like

Hi, Congrats on finishing the course. I agree, color coding of the syntax helps so much in development so I can see why you are annoyed with it when it doesn’t work. I am not too familiar with Atom, but I checked it out and seemed to work after a fresh install. Can you check a few things for me?

1. When you go to settings > packages, can you see if the javascript-language package is installed (was installed out of the box for me)

2. In your file, does Atom “see” it as a javascript file? You can check this at the bottom of the window:

Otherwise, can you post a picture of the code and the greyed out sections?

I have found this site extremely helpful:

Thankx for support Erno…appreciated. I haven’t figured out how to respond ‘inline’ so here goes…

It appears that all 81 core packages are installed…but none are launched/loaded if I am using the correct lingo as it does not appear at the bottom border where you pointed that out.

interesting though as I recognize a lot of those ‘packages’ java, json, make, js, perl, python, ruby, sql, xml.

I am trying to get a big picture understanding of all this with what I know from a lay perspective.

let’s take javascript. is that essentially a dialect of the java language?