UNISWAP - Very high swapping fees - is this normal?

Hello everyone,

i am new to using Uniswap exchange and what i have quickly noticed are very high fees with swapping tokens. I mean VERY high!? Is this normal?

Just for example -> When i made a transfer of approximate amount of $100 of ETH from exchange to my Metamask wallet i paid like few dollars of transfer fee but when i wanted to swap approximate amount of $50 ETH to some other token the fee for doing that was like $35…? Is this normal? And if this is normal than i assume that investing small amount through Uniswap is not recommended due to high fees? I would understand if i would swap $1000 from one token to another and pay $35 of fees (and even this is not quite cheap) but paying $35 for swapping $50 of value is unbelievable.

I want to hear your thoughts about this and if there is any “trick” to lower this fees?

Oh and one more thing. From Metamask i transfered USDC to some other wallet and before i could made the transfer i needed to make " Approve USDC spend limit" which was also an expensive operation (about $20 of fee) and than paying extra fee for transfering.

What is this " Approve USDC spend limit"?

Thanks a lot for your replies and help :slight_smile:

Have a great day everyone.

Matic

I came here to ask about the same question. I attempted to use Chi token on 1inch but it didn’t make much difference. I wondered if there was a layer two that let you connect direct with smart-contracts. I have coins I need liquidity mining going on with and more to move and buy. Immediately! If you find anything let me know.

1 Like

I know it’s not normal but expected because of so much congestion on ETH network. This happened four years ago when I first got in and I remember it but it wasn’t this bad.