Is there a limit to chain of hashes?

As I am going through course and learning these concept, and being a software engineer, I keep having one recuring question. That question is related to linked hashes and proof of work.
It seems that at one point the linked hashes and blockchains will be so long that it will exceed the MTU (maximum transmision unit) of a transmission. Is that possible and if yes, how are they going to be spliced together into one continous chain link? I am talking like decades from now.

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi @BlackHoleSurfer
I started my studies at the academy only recently… so somebody please correct me if I’m wrong or misunderstood the question.
From what I understand there are 2 things that would be transmitted between nodes of any kind:

• Signed transactions that are being broadcasted to form part of the mempool but have not yet been mined into a block (i.e. unconfirmed transactions)
  • Blocks that have been mined and are distributed over the network as the latest addition to the blockchain that each full node is storing locally

I would have to research what the exact upper limit for transaction size is but it can never exceed the size of a block.
Blocks on the Bitcoin blockchain do have a maximum size of 1 megabyte, however, which has been discussed controversially in the past and even led to hard forks like Bcash.

So what about the hashes that are building on all the hashes that have come before?
A hash function takes input of variable length and gives a unique string of fixed length as output. (cf. my recent assignments on hashfunctions and hashing)
Thus, regardless of how many blocks and transactions have been hashed previously the most recent hash isn’t any longer than the first hash that went into the blockchain in 2009.

As no transmission between nodes will exceed the block size limit it is only the locally stored copy of the blockchain (in the case of full nodes) that keeps on growing one block at a time.