Proof of Capacity

Hi Everyone

I am still quite new to crypto, and learning to understand different mining algorithm, like PoW and PoS.
I recently come across PoC (proof of capacity) and as I know there is currently only BurstCoin that uses this mining algorithm?

As I understand with PoC does not require constant processing power (high energy consumption) to do mining, instead it uses storage space (low energy consumption). With PoC it plots the hard drive with nonces (once off) and then the mining process is a looking up to find the valid nonce.

Is this not a better way to do the mining? I guess, it opens up the possibility where parties creating dominance with having high storage volumes?

Would like to hear your understanding and thoughts on PoC.

Thanks

Jerry

I think there is an inherent problem with all of the current mining, yes they create an incentive for people to run the network but they are becoming an outdated model and largely centralised which defeats the purpose of most cryptocurrencies.

PoW
As we know, Proof-of-Work is ridiculously energy intensive, to the degree that it will soon (couple of years) become unsustainable. If you look at the energy consumption of Bitcoin (simply the most well established and therefore easy to find data on):

While Bitcoin was consuming about 14 TWh / year in July 2017, this has increased to 44 TWh / year by January 2018 or triple its consumption. In terms of energy consumption, this comes down to about 385 KWh consumed per actual transaction, which means you could power approximately 13 households in the US for one day for each transaction processed by the Bitcoin network.