Trustless or Shift of trust from politician to scientists?

Hey guys, what’s up!

I’m a former CS student and even though I completely quit programming about 5 years ago, I have been working with computers for over 20 years now,

So. I’m pretty techy, grab things fast and then I get into the human and psychological aspects of things, which interest me a great deal.

It is commonly said that blockchain is

trust-less

,and that all we need to trust in from now, is in technology - namely, math, physics and very soon quantum physics.

Now, let’s put aside quantum physics, that is usually regarded as mystery even by those that do "understand " it, and focus on math and physics in general.

Most people suck at both - me too. Let alone high level cryptography and advanced concepts in electronics, physics etc.

So, the challenging thought / question I have:

Do we really make the processes trustless?

Or…

is it even possible or desirable, in a world of human beings, to completely remove the element of trust?

To tell you the truth, for me personally it’s hard to trust code that I have not read and completely comprehended.

• And most people SUCK at writing or reading code.

• And code can have very elusive and detrimental bugs.

So how are we to bridge the gap in the ability to write and understand smart contracts, between those that write them, and those on behalf of whom they are written?

To me it seems like instead of trusting a lawyer or some middle man, that can at least be threatened or sued, we need to trust in the coder that has all the power and knowledge, while say my 73 year old dad has none.
The coder can say it was a very trick bug that was almost impossible to take into consideration, and now money is lost forever, cause the logic was wrong, and 25 years from now, it will be submitted to the wrong party.

Most people are complete & utter dummies in this sphere.

So is it actually a shift from trustfull to trustless?